March Mumbling

I’ve been taking a bit of a break from gardening lately, due in part to a very busy month (I went to Barcelona for a week, then pretty much spent the rest of February working), but also because there is a possibility that I may be moving away, and therefore having to quit the plot this year. It’s for a good reason, if it happens, but every silver lining has a cloud, or something along those lines.

So, I’m in that annoying limbo where I keep thinking it’s time to get some crop going, then wondering if there’s any point if it may just go to waste (the site is currently undersubscribed, so the plot could very well be left empty if I do go). I’m currently thinking I’ll prioritise stuff that’s early harvest (I should get most of the summer here either way) and stuff I can move to a pot, but also sowing the easy stuff like parsnips that don’t take up too much space or time, and not bothering with sprouting broccoli and the like. I don’t think I’d be missing out much on that, by the way, even if everything does fall through, as the blasted wood pigeons have successfully pulled the nets off my brassicas three years in a row now.

I have been starting the first few things off inside as well; tomatoes, peppers and sweet peas, and I have made it down the plot twice this week now it’s warming up a bit, and sown the first broad beans, planted onion and shallot sets and started prepping a few beds for planting, so the season is starting. I’m also trying to take cuttings of everything, in the hope that, if I do move, I can at least keep a few things going in pots.

I also went to a seed swap today, with the noble aim of thinning out my seed collection and giving some other people the chance to grow them. Hah. I did manage to come back with slightly fewer seeds than I went with, and I only bought shallot sets (and a rather nice slice of cake), which is perfectly acceptable, right?

Leave a comment